Close window

Regional Development Victoria

Regional Victoria to get more Police and new and upgraded Police Stations

Monday 21 April 2016

Seven new police stations will be built in regional Victoria and a further 15 stations will be upgraded, as part of a $36.8 million package to be included in the 2016/17 Victorian Budget.

A total of $596 million is set to be invested in the Budget for public safety, which will see Victoria Police receive an extra 406 sworn police officers and 52 support personnel, as well as two new forensic hubs built in regional Victoria to help police fast-track investigations into ice and other drug trafficking.

The police station rebuild package will replace or refurbish regional police stations and residences across Victoria, so that police officers have secure and modern facilities, and includes:

  • New police stations to replace outdated facilities at Colac, Murtoa, Bright, Warburton, Mallacoota, Cowes and Corryong
  • $2.94 million to refurbish 15 police stations at Bacchus Marsh, Bairnsdale, Benalla, Churchill, Cobden, Geelong, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Moe, Mount Buller, Portland, Rosebud, Sorrento, Warragul and Warrnambool
  • $3.9 million to replace and refurbish 10 police residences across Victoria.

The new stations and refurbishments will ensure regional police are working in modern facilities, to better support victims, hold perpetrators to account and assist officers in carrying out their critical work.

© Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources, State Government of Victoria

Last Updated: 18 May 2016