Regional Development VictoriaRDA Loddon Mallee

State Government of Victoria

New Loddon Mallee RDA Committee Announced

Tuesday 30 October 2012

Regional Development Australia’s Loddon Mallee Committee has welcomed the appointment of five new members and acknowledged the dedication of its outgoing members whose three year terms had expired.

The new Committee members - Linda Beilharz, Kerry Anderson, Anne Mansell, Greg Cruickshank and Hayden Cock - join re-appointed members Jenny Dawson, Stuart McLean, Jennifer Collins, Mark Johnston and Craig Niemann. Jenny Dawson and Stuart McLean have been reappointed into the roles of Chair, and Deputy Chair respectively.

Chair Jenny Dawson welcomed the diversity of the new members.

“Our Loddon Mallee region is very diverse, so it is encouraging to see new members from across the region who can bring a variety of perspectives from their own local communities and draw on a range of past experiences.

“Half of our Committee is new and that’s very exciting for our region. They bring fresh thinking and will inject some great experience into the Committee at a time when we are looking to refresh our strategies,” said Ms Dawson.

“Our Regional Strategic Plans have served us well, and we will re-evaluate them over the next year to ensure they meet the current needs of our region. So it is a perfect time for our new members to really get involved in our work. The new Committee will also contribute to the development of our five regional change initiatives and continue to advocate on our important regional issues.”

Ms Dawson paid tribute to outgoing members Gavan Holt, Don Carrazza, Nigel McGuckian, Keith Baillie and David Pugh who were part of the inaugural Committee formed in 2009.

“When you are part of the RDA Loddon Mallee Committee, you undertake sometimes challenging but always rewarding work that leads to real community benefits,” said Ms Dawson.

“The first Committee oversaw some major initiatives across the region during their term. They were instrumental in coordinating our Regional Strategic Plans, and oversaw broadband education programs and developing business cases for recognising the importance of horticulture and our goldfields history. Our Committee helped to attract millions in funding for major projects like the Sandhurst Theatre and Mildura’s Riverfront development, and led lobbying efforts for vital issues such as NBN high speed broadband and the draft Murray-Darling Basin Plan.

“None of these achievements would have been possible without the personal and professional dedication of our outgoing members and I pass on our thanks to them,” said Ms Dawson.

About the RDA Loddon Mallee Committee

Established in late 2009 by the Australian and Victorian Governments, the Loddon Mallee Regional Development Australia Committee is an independent advisory body with voluntary community, business and local government members. Appointments to the Committee are made by the Australian and Victorian Governments. The Committee is charged with providing strategic advice on regional planning, economic and social issues, and job creation. Its five Regional Change Strategies focus on Transformative Towns, Railing Ahead, Ports of the Murray River, Bendigo as a Regional Networked City, and Solar and Renewable Energy.

New Committee Members

  • Kerry Anderson, Projects Manager, Community Leadership Loddon Murray Inc, Castlemaine
  • Linda Beilharz, Executive Officer, Women’s Health Loddon Mallee, Bendigo
  • Hayden Cock, Chief Executive Officer, Committee for Echuca Moama
  • Greg Cruickshank, Councillor, Swan Hill Rural City Council, Swan Hill
  • Anne Mansell, Chief Executive Officer, Mildura Development Corporation, Mildura

Re-appointed Committee Members

  • Jenny Dawson, Chair, Bendigo
  • Stuart McLean, Councillor, Buloke Shire, Wycheproof
  • Jenny Collins, CEO, Mallee Catchment Management Authority, Mildura
  • Mark Johnston, CEO, Central Goldfields Shire, Maryborough
  • Craig Niemann, CEO, City of Greater Bendigo, Bendigo

Outgoing Committee Members

  • Gavan Holt, Mayor, Loddon Shire
  • Don Carrazza, businessman, Mildura
  • Nigel McGuckian, RM Consulting Group, Bendigo
  • Keith Baillie, CEO, Campaspe Shire, Echuca
  • David Pugh, CEO, St Luke’s, Bendigo

RDA Loddon Mallee logo

Regional Matters Spotlight

Last Updated: 15 April 2016