Close window

Regional Development Victoria

Regional Partnerships

Regional Partnerships Logo
What are Regional Partnerships          Regional Assemblies          Find your Regional Partnership

Map of regional Victoria highlighting the partnership regions

What are Regional Partnerships

Nine Regional Partnerships have been established by the Victorian Government across the State to give regional communities greater say about what matters to them and ensure their voices reach the heart of government.

Partnerships will significantly increase collaboration between communities, industry, businesses and government to address the most important challenges and opportunities in each region.

Each Regional Partnership is guided by a diverse group of members drawn from local communities, businesses and the three-tiers of government.

Members will engage with their communities on priorities for their region, building on existing strategies and plans - harnessing the good ideas, the energy and the passion of locals.  Priorities will be presented directly to the Victorian Government’s Rural and Regional Ministerial Committee.

Regional Partnerships are the centrepiece of Victoria’s Regional Statement.

Regional Assemblies

Each Regional Partnership will hold an annual Regional Assembly to bring together people from the community, industry and government to discuss and debate the region's top priorities.

Members of the community have an opportunity to help set the agenda for their local Assembly in the weeks leading up to the event.

Visit the Engage Regions website and select your region to share your thoughts and ideas with Regional Partnerships Members and other people who live or work in your region.  If you prefer to provide feedback in person you can share your ideas with your Regional Partnerships members or visit or write to your local RDV office.

The 2017 schedule was as follows:

Date of Assembly
Mallee 29 June 2017
Swan Hill
Ovens Murray
27 July 2017
Wimmera Southern Mallee 2 August 2017
Gippsland 16 August 2017
Loddon Campaspe
17 August 2017
Goulburn 30 August 2017 Seymour
Central Highlands
31 August 2017 Ballarat
Barwon 14 September 2017 Geelong
Great South Coast
12 October 2017

Regional Assemblies snapshot


Find your Regional Partnership

Regional Partnership boundaries were mapped in consultation with local communities, bringing together areas  with common interests.

As a result, the Partnerships are smaller than Regional Development Australia areas or Regional Development Victoria’s five administrative boundaries.

The nine Regional Partnerships are:

  • Barwon - Colac Otway (Shire), Greater Geelong (City), Queenscliffe (Borough), Surf Coast (Shire)
  • Central Highlands - Ararat (Rural City), Ballarat (City), Golden Plains (Shire), Hepburn (Shire), Moorabool (Shire), Pyrenees (Shire)
  • Gippsland - Bass Coast (Shire), Baw Baw (Shire), East Gippsland (Shire), Latrobe (City), South Gippsland (Shire), Wellington (Shire)
  • Goulburn - Greater Shepparton (City), Mitchell (Shire), Moira (Shire), Murrindindi (Shire), Strathbogie (Shire)
  • Great South Coast - Corangamite (Shire), Glenelg (Shire), Moyne (Shire), Southern Grampians (Shire), Warrnambool (City)
  • Loddon Campaspe - Campaspe (Shire), Central Goldfields (Shire), Greater Bendigo (City), Loddon (Shire), Macedon Ranges (Shire), Mount Alexander (Shire)
  • Mallee - Buloke (Shire), Gannawarra (Shire), Mildura (City), Swan Hill (Rural City)
  • Ovens Murray - Alpine (Shire), Benalla (City), Indigo (Shire), Mansfield (Shire), Towong (Shire), Wangaratta (Rural City), Wodonga (Rural City)
  • Wimmera Southern Mallee - Hindmarsh (Shire), Horsham (Rural City), Northern Grampians (Shire), West Wimmera (Shire), Yarriambiack (Shire)

Regional Partnership members

Each Regional Partnership is guided by around 15 members,  including community and business people with diverse backgrounds and broad skills, local government CEOs, and one State Government deputy secretary.

The nine Regional Partnership Chairs will also come together to discuss cross-regional issues and opportunities as the Regional Development Advisory Committee.

Find out who your Regional Partnership members are:

© Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources, State Government of Victoria

Last Updated: 13 November 2017