State Government of Victoria

Local Government Infrastructure Program

The Local Government Infrastructure Program (LGIP) aims to provide regional and rural councils with certainty to plan for and build new infrastructure or renew assets.

The LGIP has the flexibility to support a range of local council initiatives including roads, bridges, new community assets such as halls and theatres, sporting grounds, grandstands, pools, libraries, and upgrading existing facilities. In order to ensure the maximum degree of certainty, each council will be allocated a notional four-year total for projects nominated from its Forward Capital Works Plan.

Through a straightforward allocation of funds direct to all regional councils, greater certainty will be provided to plan and deliver key infrastructure projects already scheduled as part of existing Local Government Forward Capital Works Plans.

Four year allocations have been communicated to the 48 regional and rural Victorian councils, and were derived through a formula which involved the following steps:

  1. The ten largest regional cities* each receive a fixed allocation of $2 million.
  2. The remaining 38 rural councils are notionally allocated an initial base funding grant of $1.5 million.
  3. The remaining funds are allocated to the 38 rural councils using the Victorian Grants Commission Population Dispersion Cost Adjustor, multiplied by the population of the Local Government Area.
  4. Caps are then applied to notional allocations at two levels:
  • no council receives more than $2.5 million in total; and
  • no council receives more than 4% of the "carrying value" of its infrastructure (the value of building assets and construction / infrastructure assets).

*Ballarat, Greater Bendigo, Greater Geelong, Horsham, Latrobe, Mildura, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Warrnambool and Wodonga.

The funding allocation for each council is listed in the following table:

LGA Name Region Amount
Alpine Shire Council Hume $2,042,360
Ararat Rural City Council Grampians $1,867,082
Ballarat City Council Grampians $2,000,000
Bass Coast Shire Council Gippsland $2,500,000
Baw Baw Shire Council Gippsland $2,500,000
Benalla Rural City Council Hume $1,904,075
Buloke Shire Council Loddon Mallee $1,844,375
Campaspe Shire Council Loddon Mallee $2,500,000
Central Goldfields Shire Council Loddon Mallee $1,865,852
Colac Otway Shire Council Barwon South West $2,244,972
Corangamite Shire Council Barwon South West $2,178,883
East Gippsland Shire Council Gippsland $2,500,000
Gannawarra Shire Council Loddon Mallee $1,917,910
Glenelg Shire Council Barwon South West $2,308,998
Golden Plains Shire Council Grampians $2,184,572
Greater Bendigo City Council Loddon Mallee $2,000,000
Greater Geelong City Council Barwon South West $2,000,000
Greater Shepparton City Council Hume $2,000,000
Hepburn Shire Council Grampians $2,033,719
Hindmarsh Shire Council Grampians $1,764,198
Horsham Rural City Council Grampians $2,000,000
Indigo Shire Council Hume $2,133,575
Latrobe City Council Gippsland $2,000,000
Loddon Shire Council Loddon Mallee $1,854,870
Macedon Ranges Shire Council Loddon Mallee $2,500,000
Mansfield Shire Council Hume $1,771,485
Mildura Rural City Council Loddon Mallee $2,000,000
Mitchell Shire Council Hume $2,500,000
Moira Shire Council Hume $2,500,000
Moorabool Shire Council Grampians $2,500,000
Mount Alexander Shire Council Loddon Mallee $2,042,049
Moyne Shire Council Barwon South West $2,182,575
Murrindindi Shire Council Hume $2,141,970
Northern Grampians Shire Council Grampians $1,992,834
Pyrenees Shire Council Grampians $1,763,662
Borough of Queenscliffe Barwon South West $813,320
South Gippsland Shire Council Gippsland $2,500,000
Southern Grampians Shire Council Barwon South West $2,075,605
Strathbogie Shire Council Hume $1,877,867
Surf Coast Shire Council Barwon South West $2,377,966
Swan Hill Rural City Council Loddon Mallee $2,445,941
Towong Shire Council Hume $1,818,983
Wangaratta Rural City Council Hume $2,000,000
Warrnambool City Council Barwon South West $2,000,000
Wellington Shire Council Gippsland $2,500,000
West Wimmera Shire Council Grampians $1,720,371
Wodonga City Council Hume $2,000,000
Yarriambiack Shire Council Grampians $1,829,931


Visit here to view announced Local Government Infrastructure Program funding

Last Updated: 01 December 2014