Regional Development Victoria Delivering for Rural and Regional Victoria logo

Tiny Towns Fund

Supporting projects in communities with a population up to 5,000 people.


Right across rural and regional Victoria, our tiny towns are great places to live and visit.

The new Tiny Towns Fund supports local communities to deliver quality tourism and community facility projects, such as splash parks and bike trails, playgrounds, community hall and library upgrades, public art and more.

Towns with a population of up to 5,000 people in the 48 local government areas of regional Victoria were eligible to apply, as well as Alpine Resorts and Melbourne’s 10 interface outer metropolitan local government areas.

Those areas include Casey City Council, Cardinia Shire Council, Hume City Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, Whittlesea City Council, Wyndham City Council and the Yarra Ranges Shire Council.

Applications have now closed.

All applications received in Round 1 are currently being assessed. Successful applicants will be announced soon.

Objectives of Program

From barbecues to community centres, the Tiny Towns Fund backs community-driven projects that enhance our smallest towns, strengthen community connections and encourage more visitors to all corners of Victoria.

Funding Details

Grants between $5,000 and $50,000 were available for each project.

Applications have now closed.

Download Resources

Resource Download
Tiny Towns Fund Program Guidelines (401.9 KB ) Download
Tiny Towns Fund Program Guidelines - Accessible (298.0 KB ) Download