Regional Development Victoria Delivering for Rural and Regional Victoria logo

New committee members appointed


A new group of local leaders has been appointed to serve the Barwon Regional Partnership’s next term.

The Victorian Government established the nine Regional Partnerships in 2016 in recognition that local communities are best placed to understand their region’s challenges and opportunities.

Committees are appointed to serve four-year terms, meaning the inaugural Barwon Regional Partnership committee’s tenure has come to an end.

Following an extensive recruitment campaign, Deakin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin has been appointed Chair of the Barwon Regional Partnership.

Professor Martin will be joined by a diverse and high-calibre group drawn from sectors that include health, business, innovation, environment, social and community services, planning and regional development.

Tracey Slatter, Managing Director of Barwon Water, has been appointed Deputy Chair of the Barwon Regional Partnership. Other members include:

  • Bill Mithen
  • Corrina Eccles
  • Frances Diver
  • Jennifer Cromarty
  • Lisa Kingman
  • Melinda Kennedy
  • Nat Anson
  • Nick Stanley

These community members will be joined by local council CEOs, Regional Development Australia representatives and senior Victorian government officials.

The term of appointment for new members will run until 31 December 2024.

The Barwon Regional Partnership would like to thank the outgoing Chair, Kylie Warne, and the outgoing committee members for their dedicated service over the past four years. These efforts have ensured the Barwon Regional Partnership is well placed to tackle the issues that matter most to the community in its next term.

The role of the Partnership is to ensure their communities have a greater say about what matters to them and that their voices are heard by government.

Early in its first term, the Barwon Regional Partnership advocated for the establishment of the Great Ocean Road Taskforce, following the devastating Wye River bushfire in 2015.

The government established the taskforce in 2017, which found that – given the Great Ocean Road’s outstanding natural, cultural and heritage values – there was a need to treat the region as a single, integrated entity.

In 2018 the Victorian Government released the Great Ocean Road Action Plan, its response to the Great Ocean Road Taskforce Co-Chairs Report. The Victorian Government supported all recommendations including the establishment of the Great Ocean Road Coast and Parks Authority.

In November 2020, the Victorian Government appointed an inaugural Board and Chairperson of the soon to be established Great Ocean Road Coast and Parks Authority (GORCAPA) – set up to protect the iconic Great Ocean Road.

More information about the Barwon Regional Partnership’s priorities.

  • Share this page:
  • twitter share button
  • facebook share button